Flipping the Classroom and Handling Unprepared Students

As I am learning all about flipping the classroom, there seems to be a common concern/question that lingers. How do we deal with students who still don’t come to class prepared???? How do we as educators encourage them to be engaged? . I can only imagine how frustrating it can be to a teacher when some students come prepared and others do not, how do you improvise when not all your students are on the same page? This article (link) helps provide some answers.

Once I start teaching I think I can definitely use some of the strategies this article suggests. Maybe start out by some class monitoring, perhaps it will be the same two students all the time who come unprepared and it will only take a simple conversation with them to find out what is going on. I think it is important as a teacher to have empathy and realize that students have other stressors outside of school which may contribute to their lack of engagement or unpreparedness.

This article also suggests to proceed as planned and this will show the unprepared students just how valuable the pre-class work is. I would only follow with this strategy after speaking to those individual students as pre-mentioned and if their lack of preparedness is truly out of laziness than anything else. Until I could pinpoint those who are usually unprepared I would do a quick re-cap every class as the article also suggests so everyone is on the same page – but not something I would continue to do or get in the habit of.

So all in all I think this article has some really good suggestions that I for sure want to keep in my back pocket for when I start teaching. It lists out five strategies nicely and reading them I immediately start thinking how I would use each one and in what sequence to be successful at flipping the classroom.

 

 

One thought on “Flipping the Classroom and Handling Unprepared Students

  1. As a teacher I have tried to talk with the student or students that are always behind in their work, and I have tried to keep them caught up with the rest of the class. Once it becomes habitual the other students see that there is always more time spent with those students than with the ones that come prepared. You have to make a choice to move on and keep the rest engaged and on track or you risk losing more students. They see it as “ok” to not be prepared because the teacher will catch them up. Unfortunately I see it happening way too much and they fall behind and do not complete the course or module. Sometimes they will surprise you and catch up with the others if you decide to move on with the lesson.

    Like

Leave a Reply

